iPad – To buy or not to buy?

Okay, so this isn’t much of a question since I can’t foresee when I would have time to take advantage of a new toy just now, but I can’t help feeling swayed by each new news item about the pros and cons of the new iPad. From what I’ve gathered so far, the iPad has a *color* eReader, web access, and App capabilities. But, is this really a laptop killer? Lack of Flash support, no multitasking, no camera, and almost dominant content delivery via iTunes only?!  While still light years ahead of the single-purpose Kindle, I’m still holding my breath for THE tablet/ebook reader.

On another note, mobile outreach and roaming reference in the stacks could be a lot more deployable with something like the iPad.  Some other fields have already started analyzing the iPad’s pro and cons.  I personally find the iPad’s possible deployment in the health care field to be a good guide for what libraries can think about and anticipate before adding iPads to their collection, in conjunction with the educational (admin side) and the educational (student-view) foci.

I know some of you will be receiving yours soon.  Thoughts? Experiences? Feedback on these presumed fears and dreamed about pros?

2 thoughts on “iPad – To buy or not to buy?

  1. Want one. G3 or no G3, that is the question. I am very interested in the impact/ uses of the device on the library community. I think that having one while roving around the library would be fun. I picture myself walking around helping people. Now I just need the ipad and the job!

Leave a Reply

